Cape Town Military Tattoo of 2009

I know, I know, it’s already May 2010 and almost, not quite, time for the Cape Town Military Tattoo of 2010, but I just haven’t had the time to sort through all the photos and video clips I took last year to put them up here. But tonight, I finally completed one of my editing jobs and, instead of launching straight into the next one waiting, I took the evening off to bring you:

Ta-daa! Drum roll, please!

A slidehow of the Cape Town Military Tattoo of 2009!

This event (now an annual one – yayy!) took place in November last year at the magnificent old Castle of Good Hope in central Cape Town. After the previous year’s fabulous spectacle, we were really looking forward to going, and this time took along my good friend Kim and her mom.

And what an exhilarating, exciting, thrilling evening it was!

The weather was perfect, there was hardly any wind, no rain, and almost no clouds. As it is an outdoor event, bad weather can really mess things up. But we were really lucky.

So, without further ado, here’s the pictures for you. I should add that they aren’t spectacular, because my camera does not cope well with low light conditions (frustratingly, I couldn’t use a tripod in the midst of all those spectators). Some of the pictures are actually screen-captures from the video clips, which turned out surprisingly well, even though my Canon is not a video camera.

I also can’t add a soundtrack for you or include any of the video clips, but you can always play a CD of appropriate military music or bagpipes in the background if you like, to get into the right mood.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I thought that last year’s (2009) tattoo was even more spectacular than the previous year’s (2008). It was noticeably more military in nature, without the ‘feminine touch’ of the various dancers who participated in 2008.

Right from the start, when we almost fell off our chairs with the ear-splitting bangs of the cannons and muzzle loaders, and the bands marched on for the first muster, all the way until the final departure of the pipes and drums, it was a glorious spectacle.

And what a treat to hear Flower of Scotland and Highland Cathedral performed live! I don’t think I was the only one with goosebumps and a lump in my throat.

As soon as bookings open for this year’s event, I’m buying my tickets.

2 thoughts on “Cape Town Military Tattoo of 2009

  1. Thanks for an interesting show – we don’t have Military Tatoo’s here in Denmark: We were never a British colony – but the Vikings from here colonised Britain!!!!

    • In that case, I’m glad you could vicariously experience a military tattoo through my blog. So tell me, how did the Vikings celebrate their victory and their glorious battles? 😉

I'd love to hear your views

