Happy New Year: Introducing “Finding Frohsinn”

One of my New Year’s Resolutions for 2014 is to take a photograph every day this year, in order to learn how to use my camera more effectively, and to challenge myself photographically.

Although I already have this blog, the time constraints of daily living have prevented me from updating it as often as I would like. You’ve no doubt noticed long pauses between posts. This is because crafting longer blog-posts simply takes more time and energy than I have right now. So, to take the pressure off myself, I decided to create a new photos-only blog for 2014. Although my intention is to post a photo a day until 31 December 2014, I suspect that this goal may be a tad on the ambitious side, given my track record with this blog! 🙂 Nonetheless, sometimes it is good to aim high!

You can find my new photos-only blog here: http://findingfrohsinn.wordpress.com/

IMG_7189I have called it ‘Finding Frohsinn’ in memory of a visit to the magical rose garden at Chart Farm in Wynberg on 30 December 2011. That enchanted day, I found a rose that combined my favourite colours, all subtly flowing into each other: “the colour is an interesting play of apricot-pink with orange-red on the edges of the petals & salmon flowing towards the centre of the blooms” (website). It also had the most exquisite sweet fragrance.

And, much to my delight, it even had the perfect name: Frohsinn“!

This German word means ‘cheerfulness’ or ‘joy’ in English, and it expressed exactly how I felt when I first saw this rose. I thought it would be a fitting name for my new photo-blog.

So, if you’re curious, do pop on over.

22 thoughts on “Happy New Year: Introducing “Finding Frohsinn”

    • That is funny, Sybil. When I took that photo, I was actually thinking to myself, “I wonder if there will one day be a technique of capturing a scent together with the visual information in the photo…” As there isn’t, so far, we’ll both just have to imagine it!

  1. Happy New Year Reggie, and good luck with your new blog, I will be one of your followers. You are right about the time consuming in writing blog posts, another thing is that it also takes time to read it. I think your photo blog will be a big success.

    • Thank you so much for the support and encouragement, Birgitte; I also love your photo blogs, so that is why I thought I would give this approach a try.

      Happy New Year to you and your loved ones too!

      • I’m so pleased you enjoyed your visit to the Chart Farm, Liz. Sorry you didn’t find the Frohsinn rose – perhaps it’s not flowering at the moment, or perhaps they’ve replaced it with another type… I think we’ll have to go back and check too!

        While you were there, did you pick up a punnet of cherries? The owners of Chart Farm also happen to own the Klondyke Cherry Farm outside Ceres, where you can go cherry-picking in December. 🙂

      • Found the cherries, and yes to your question on buying a punnet 🙂 Delicious they were too. Our paths cross again as i know the Duck Pond cottage at Klondyke, although the cherries weren’t in season when we stayed but rather the pears. Went fishing at Lakenvlei next door. Rugged mountains – heavenly retreat.

      • Now I’m intrigued: Does Klondyke also have pear orchards? Oh, how heavenly. We’ve not yet stayed at Klondyke, but it’s on our ‘must do’ list, so I know we will! Lakenvlei dam sounds lovely!

        Incidentally, we visited the Chart Farm yesterday, and I too couldn’t find Frohsinn at first. I ended up speaking to the friendly man in charge of the rose gardens, and he explained that they had been mis-labelled. So it’s no wonder that you couldn’t find them! But I’m pretty sure I found *my* roses in the end.

I'd love to hear your views

