Experimenting with kale chips – and other veggie chips!

When I received a packet of very large kale leaves in my delivery of fresh produce from the Ethical Co-op, I hadn’t a clue what to do with them.

The advice from knowledgeable friends led me online. My inquiry to Google, “What on earth can I do with kale?” elicited the almost unanimous answer “Make kale chips!”

Really? Seriously? Turn big green leaves into chips?

Right. Well. Okay.

The recipes for kale chips looked fairly straightforward, even for someone not too well-versed in the culinary arts, and so, at lunchtime today, when I was feeling rather peckish, I gave it a bash.

These were the steps I followed, should you be so inclined to give them a try too.

The end result: Toss into a bowl - and munch away at this super healthy snack

The end result: Toss into a bowl – and munch away at this super healthy snack

Recipe for Reggie’s Crispy Kale Chips

  1. Preheat oven to about 160-180 degrees Celsius.
  2. Remove the large leaves from the packet.
  3. Wash the leaves thoroughly.
  4. Dry very well. Pat-pat-pat with a paper towel.
  5. Remove the fibrous central ‘stronkie’ – off into the compost you go!
  6. Slice up the leaves into small-ish pieces.
  7. Throw the leaves into a mixing bowl.
  8. Drizzle over some olive oil.
  9. Chop up a garlic clove, and add to the bowl.
  10. Sprinkle on some coarse salt.
  11. Toss well – but not too vigorously – until all the pieces are nicely coated.
  12. Spread the leaves out on a baking tray.
  13. Roast them in the oven for about 5-10 minutes, in total.

Roasting was the trickiest part. My first batch was charred. 😦 Having learned my lesson, I opened the oven door every few minutes with the second batch, and gave the leaves a bit of a stir. When they felt crispy, but weren’t blackened or sticking to the baking tray, I pronounced them ready.

I tentatively tried one of the not-too-charred ones.

Oooh! Talk about a taste explosion!!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

The other batches turned out so well, that I went a little overboard. I ambitiously decided that I would finely slice some of the organic veggies I had received on Thursday: two potatoes, a large turnip and a large juicy-looking beetroot… and I gave them the same treatment. Okay, they took quite a lot longer – about 20-30 minutes, with intermittent stirring to prevent any of them sticking to the baking tray.

But as to the result, let’s just say it was good timing that hubby returned at this moment, or there might not have been any left for lunch.

I (we) can authoritatively confirm: Lunch was goooood. πŸ˜€

There you go - homemade, deliciously healthy veggie chips

There you go – homemade, deliciously healthy veggie chips

6 thoughts on “Experimenting with kale chips – and other veggie chips!

  1. I do like the idea of having to be creative with a ‘surprise’ box of ingredients from the co-op. I find the great Australian cookbook, Stephanie Alexander’s The Cook’s Companion (1996), very useful this way, since it’s organised by ingredients. Perhaps the internet now serves the same function.

  2. SOunds yum – when are you going to do some more?……..I have had crispy butternut chips before – but it was by mistake! – forgotten in the oven while chatting πŸ™‚ Thanks for the good idea. G

    • Hahaha! – I’ve had THOSE kinds of butternut chips before too, Glynnis! (I got sidetracked by a Sudoku puzzle, I think!) Actually, they turned out pretty scrumptious. The beetroot and turnip ‘chips’ were also delicious – the beetroot ones were still just slightly softer than the others, just perfect.

      I wonder whether the trick with these veggie chips is to use a lower heat, for slightly longer than ‘normal’, so that they don’t burn before they are ‘done through’?

      And so far, I’ve tried it with potato, butternut, sweet potato, beetroot, and turnips… I wonder what else you can try…

I'd love to hear your views

