A sunny spot and a good ol’ adventure book

Tuffy has located one of her favourite sunny spots

If you ask my family, they will confirm that I was a “Leseratte” (a German word translated directly as ‘reading rat’, but meaning the equivalent of ‘bookworm’, which sounds much better) when I was little. I always had my nose buried in a book, or two, or more.

This hasn’t changed much, although nowadays it usually takes me a little longer to get through a book, because the responsibilities of adulthood clamour for attention too.

After a particularly intense series of freelance editing jobs with insane deadlines, interspersed with some serious spring-cleaning activities around the house where I systematically took down, washed and hung up again every single set of curtains (phew!), I badly needed a break.

Temptation beckons – a sun-kissed sofa

One afternoon, after a few days of torrential winter rains, I happened to notice that the sun had at last come out from behind the clouds, and was shining directly onto the sofa in the lounge.

Look!

It was a temptation that I could not resist. Honestly, could you?

After all, I have learned from the best – Tuffy-Cat. She always knows exactly where the sunny spots are in the house or the garden.

I made myself some tea, put some biscuits on a plate, and switched the cellphone off, before grabbing one of the Famous Five books off the shelf to indulge my inner child. I’m pretty sure my English teacher at school would shake her head in disbelief, as we were strictly forbidden to read Enid Blyton’s books under pain of death, or worse!

The necessary paraphernalia: a couple of Enid Blyton books, a mug of tea, a plate of cookies, and some cushions for extra comfort

In my case, it had the opposite effect to the one intended, as I promptly read – nay, devoured – all the EB books that I could find in the local public library.

And I loved them. Defiantly!

That is why there are 11 old Famous Five books on my bookshelf – in German! I know there are lots more, but I haven’t found any more. Yet. πŸ˜‰

There ain’t no better way of enjoying a good book, particularly a favourite book from childhood, than to lie quietly in a sunny spot, with something delicious to nibble and drink close at hand, and to allow yourself to be caught up in the grips of good ol’ adventure.

Ahhh…

Contentment

12 thoughts on “A sunny spot and a good ol’ adventure book

    • I am delighted to hear that you are a fellow Leseratte, Kathy! A fellow lover-of-sunny-spots!

      You’ve never heard of the Famous Five? Or the Secret Seven? Oh, how I loved reading those books… I wonder whether our local library has them; they’ll only have them in English, not in German, but that doesn’t matter. I’ll need to investigate! Do you have a library near-ish to you, Kathy?

    • Thank you, Lisa. That is our lounge. The sofa needs to be ‘firmed up’ again, as it tends to sag a bit, but it is just the most cosy place to sit and read.

      Yes, Tuffy-Cat purrs in acknowledgement of her brilliance. πŸ˜‰

  1. My goodness you took down and cleaned all your curtains by yourself? I am impressed. You sure deserve a rest on the sofa with book and cookies.

    I was also a Leseratte (love the word!) and also devoured all the Enid Blyton books. I’m impressed that you can read them in German.

    • Well, our school and local library only had them in English, but when I went to Swakop for holidays, the library there had them in German, so I read them in both languages. πŸ™‚

      Yeah, those curtains… that was exhausting, particularly taking down and hanging up the heavier curtains… removing all the little clips and then threading them in again afterwards… sheesh! We only got a washing machine this year, so it was the first time I could wash the net curtains AND the thicker curtains in the washing machine – usually I just washed the net curtains in the bath-tub. They look like new again, which made all the hard work worthwhile!

      • I have linen curtains in my living room which need to be professionally cleaned and pressed. I can’t just pop them in the washing machine and hang to dry.
        Next time I’m going to be sure I don’t buy curtains that aren’t the drip dry variety!

      • Strictly speaking, I’m not sure that our curtains should’ve been popped in the washing machine either, but it has a ‘delicate’ setting, or something like that, which I used… I tested it first though!

        Next time, though, I am going to wait for SUMMER, because then they only need a couple of hours on the line before they are dry. Trying to wash curtains at the start of spring is tricky, because the weather is so unpredictable, the sun just isn’t warm enough yet, and it still gets very cold at night, so there was much back-and-forth with the washing line involved, which just added to the workload.

    • You read the Secret Seven too?! Wow… I thought I was on my own here. Have fun finding them online, Richard – do you know whether they have been ‘updated’ for modern-day readers? I vaguely recall that the Famous Five books no longer have the original texts.

I'd love to hear your views

