The WordPress Stats Helper Monkeys review my Blog for 2011

The WordPress stats helper monkeys prepared a 2011 annual report for this blog, like they had done last year too (My Blog Health-O-Meter reads Wow!). I thought you might enjoy reading it, so I have included the link below.

To summarise:

  • My blog was viewed about 67,000 times in 2011 – thank you, dearest visitors! 🙂 In fact, I can still remember that hectically busy day in August 2011, when I hit the milestone of 150,000 views – and missed the exact moment the stats counter clicked over the 150,000 mark!

Stats Counter on 27 August 2011

  • I wrote 100 posts (on average about every 3-4 days). Honestly, this rather puzzled me, as there were long stretches where I did not post anything because Normal Life was keeping me Very Busy.
  • Most visitors from the African continent came from South Africa (97.7%). The United States (79.3% of North America) & Japan (54.4% of Asia) were not far behind. Most European visitors came from the UK (33.2%). Welcome, fellow South Africans!
  • The busiest day of the year was 22 September 2011 with 874 views. The most popular post that day was Where cats can sleep. This was a complete surprise – why do so many people like to see pictures of cats sleeping? Clearly, with so many cat lovers around, I think I’d better put up some more pictures of our Tuffy-cat!

Tuffy-Cat dozing and sunbathing by the poolside

Thirsty bees drinking from the fountain

  • The most popular referring sites included Labaq.com (an Asian search engine, I believe), Facebook and WordPress.

Our radish crop

  • Most visitors searched for madam and eve (I had once put in a Madam and Eve cartoon, which is one of my favourite South African cartoons), radish (in 2009, we’d attempted to plant a very small veggie garden – the only thing that survived the cats, the birds, the worms, the caterpillars, and the moles were the glorious radishes), playmobil caravan (in 2010, I reminisced about my favourite childhood toys and said a very sad goodbye to them), african penguins, boulders beach (in 2010, I’d written about the African penguins of Boulders Beach in Simon’s Town) and sleeping cat (OK, OK, I get the message!).

African penguin on lookout duty at Boulders Beach

Pretty cool, WordPress! Thank you!

Here’s an excerpt:

Madison Square Garden can seat 20,000 people for a concert. This blog was viewed about 67,000 times in 2011. If it were a concert at Madison Square Garden, it would take about 3 sold-out performances for that many people to see it.

Click here to see the complete report.

8 thoughts on “The WordPress Stats Helper Monkeys review my Blog for 2011

  1. Congratulations Reggie, I like to read your blog, as you venture on the paths of our country, and bring to life the places that a senior person is not able to visit or climb.
    The photo’s are lovely, so, well done to you!
    Best wishes for this new year, and Happy blogging.

    • Thank you so much, Pauline. I am glad to hear you enjoy our ‘virtual’ trips. 🙂 Best wishes to you for the coming year too! May you be showered with good health and happiness, and much abundance and joy!

  2. What an excellent way to discuss your WordPress report. Have also spotted some posts that I missed. That one about cats sleeping is so funny! Since Lucy (our cat) is often difficult to photograph unless she’s asleep, I have hundreds of photographs of her sleeping in all sorts of positions. I’m thinking of posting a gallery of the best ones.

I'd love to hear your views

