My Blog-Health-o-Meter reads “Wow”?!

At the beginning of the year, no doubt like all WordPress.com bloggers, I received this Review of 2010 from the world’s favourite blog hosting service, and I thought it was a really cool surprise present! I know I’m a little late with posting this, but it took me a couple of weeks to clear out my inbox.

Oh – and if you received one of these and posted it on your blogs, please send me the link in the comments, I’d be very curious to see your stats too.

Here ya go – enjoy!

Intro

The stats helper monkeys at WordPress.com mulled over how this blog did in 2010, and here’s a high level summary of its overall blog health:

Healthy blog!

The Blog-Health-o-Meterβ„’ reads Wow.

Crunchy numbers

Featured image

The Louvre Museum has 8.5 million visitors per year. This blog was viewed about 75,000 times in 2010. If it were an exhibit at The Louvre Museum, it would take 3 days for that many people to see it.

In 2010, there were 186 new posts, growing the total archive of this blog to 699 posts.

The busiest day of the year was November 2nd with 1,199 views. The most popular post that day was The first photos of Miss Milly May’s young’uns.

Where did they come from?

The top referring sites in 2010 were wordpress.com, en.blog.wordpress.com, facebook.com, google.co.za, and en.wordpress.com.

Some visitors came searching, mostly for hungry, funny horses, cape town stadium, funny horse pictures, and madam and eve.

Attractions in 2010

These are the posts and pages that got the most views in 2010.

1

The first photos of Miss Milly May’s young’uns November 2010
54 comments and 24 Likes on WordPress.com

2

Kitty humour July 2008
4 comments

3

Green Point Stadium July 2009
10 comments

4

Where cats can sleep January 2009
4 comments

5

The flowers of Clanwilliam July 2009
15 comments

15 thoughts on “My Blog-Health-o-Meter reads “Wow”?!

  1. Congratulations, you have had many visitors, well deserved. I got the same stat, I have posted it at my blog. ItΒ΄s quite funny to study ones stat and see the search terms. I thought of making a post one day, containing the most popular words/seek terms – in one post. Could be interesting to see if the stat would explode then πŸ˜‰

  2. Reggie, those little piggies sure were sweet. I had missed that post and so had to have a peek.

    Looking through the list of search words and phrases often makes me scratch my head in wonder. One from this week: “I just ate a slug. Will I die?”

    699 is certainly a lot of posts. It’s always a pleasure learning about your corner of the world Reggie. Write on πŸ™‚

    • Aw, thanks, Amy. Glad you liked the little piggies – I’ve been meaning to go over to the Millstone to take some updated pics, but have simply not had the time. There are SO MANY BLOG POSTS that still need to be written!! Do you also take so long to write your posts, Amy? I find it takes quite a long time, to select photos and edit them for uploading, to upload them and add captions, and to craft the text around them, researching the things I don’t know but want to include… And one needs to be ‘in the flow’ somehow, for the writing to be good enough, and sometimes I simply cannot find the right words, almost like the brain is not in the right gear… Do you find that too?

      I had to laugh at the slug phrase! I too often giggle when I see people’s search phrases. Birgitte suggested that it might be quite fun to write one single post with ALL the weirdest and most popular search phrases – I wonder what would happen?!

    • Yes Reggie, it takes me a lot of time to create a post too. Sometimes hours go by and I’m still at it, revising images and re-writing text.

      Most of the time, I don’t wait for the feeling to write, but rather trust that I will acquire the feeling once I start writing.

      If I wrote a post using all those odd and popular search words I can just imagine what would happen. Readers would likely think I’ve gone nuts. But… it wouldn’t be the first time πŸ™‚

  3. Congratulations Reggie! I know how time-consuming blogging can be and you do a great job – your blog is always a pleasure to read. Only thing it needs I think is more TUFFY!
    πŸ˜‰

    • Chuckle… thank you! I’m pleased you enjoy reading my blog. I love reading your’s too – and I marvel at how OFTEN you blog. You seem to spend every weekend hiking, and you go hiking during the week too – so I’ve no idea how you manage to put up the photos and the text immediately afterwards! I have such a backlog myself…

      As for Tuffy – aww, well, I think I shall have to remedy that. Will see what I can do. πŸ˜‰

I'd love to hear your views

