The first photos of Miss Milly May’s young’uns

“Have you seen the chicken?”

“No, which chicken?”

“The one who’s sitting on Milly’s piglets.”

“Oh?! Seriously?”

“Yes, come, I’ll show you.”

Jochi: definitely a proud uncle

This was our exchange with Jochi, the Millstone chef and Miss Milly May’s ‘Daddy’, when we briefly popped in at the Millstone on Sunday afternoon to have a glass of freshly made carrot-and-apple juice. And, of course, I wanted to show Richard, who’d been away for over a week, the little piglets that had been born in his absence.

“Hello, world!”

Squealing and protesting at being picked up - a feisty little chap!

Our curiosity piqued, we followed Jochi down to Milly’s wicker enclosure. Milly was still feeling a little camera shy, and hiding away in her little wooden ‘huisie’ with her brood, but she emerged into the sunlight when Jochi called her.

All together now, "Ohh! Cute!"

Some of her babies were inside the house, while others were sheltering in the narrow gap underneath.

Such a cutie! And can you see the little pink feet?!

They came outside too, their eyes almost shut against the bright glare of the sun.

"Wait, mommy, I'm hungry again!"

And then, much to our astonishment, a white chicken emerged from the rear of her house. I should be more precise: from INSIDE her house. Yes, folks, it had indeed been sitting on and between her piglets! According to Jochi, she was quite protective of her ‘foster chicks’, and would peck them and clean them, and put her wings over them.

Wow.

The amazing mothering hen!

Judging from Milly’s happy smile, as she flopped down in the shade once more, she was quite content to have an aunt to keep an eye on her wriggly young’uns.

OK, that's definitely a smile on Milly's face, don't you think?

54 thoughts on “The first photos of Miss Milly May’s young’uns

    • Hehehehe…. [chuckling]… you’re so right, Gail. πŸ˜‰ But no, they are perfectly safe with Jochi. There’s no way they’re ending up as… um… [whispering, as I don’t want to scare them] bacon.

    • Aw, thanks, Kathy. πŸ˜€

      When I got home last night, after spending another long and full day at the Castle, watching and photographing the rehearsals for the tattoo this week, I downloaded all my photos and then checked my blog stats. Much to my astonishment, this post had made the β€˜Freshly Pressed’ page!

      Fabulous, innit? πŸ˜‰

  1. I am glad I came across this page. It brings that wholesome bit that makes you smile and feel all is well. Thank you for creating this lovely world.

  2. Oh my goodness. So cute. I grew up on a farm and worked on the edge of my town at a ranch, but all the experience in the world with baby animals will never make me stop squealing at their pictures. Sooooo precious!

    Thanks for posting.

    marlowesnymph.wordpress.com

  3. A big thank you to everyone who popped by to read this post and to leave a comment – it’s really appreciated, even if I did not have the time to reply to each of you individually. πŸ˜€

  4. I had some piglets who were kept warm at night by my Bull Terrier after their mother died. They would all curl up together in the straw and they all became the greatest of friends. We also had to bottle feed them, never to be forgotten days!

  5. Well just pick me up off of the floor now! Those little piggies and big momma with her proud smile were enough to make me fall out of my chair! I wish I could be right there to pet them. What a wonderful time.

  6. I love the pictures of the piglets! Oh… they are soo beautiful those little critters! I wish I could get one of these I would let em live forever !!! Adorable beings.

  7. Thank you to everyone who left a comment, even if I haven’t had the time to reply to each of you individually.

    I’ve just posted some photos of what the little pink-and-black wrigglies look like today – see here.

    They have definitely grown since last week, and are far more feisty and lively than before. Milly May and Aunty Clucky (the hen) are going to have their (respective) trotters and claws full to keep them in line!

I'd love to hear your views

