New life at Oude Molen: A foal and a litter of pigs

Before the start of the beautiful, sad and heartwarming memorial service for Lulama yesterday afternoon at the Millstone Farmstall in Oude Molen Eco Village, I ambled down to the wetland from where you have such a heart-opening and mind-expanding view of our city.

I stood leaning on the fence for a while, just absorbing the peace of this place, so close to and yet so far removed from the mid-afternoon rush-hour traffic. Even though the M5 and the N2 meet right on the other side of the wetland, you can barely even hear the roar of the traffic, the revving of the trucks or the hooting of the taxis.

Suddenly, I spotted a movement out of the corner of my eye.

Hello! Is that a new-born foal over there?!

Naturally, I whipped out my camera and zoomed in as far as the 18-55mm lens allows… (Luckily, you can zoom in further with the photo editing software. ;-))

Yes, indeed! A new-born foal, probably only a few days old, judging from its unsteady and gangly legs. How wonderful! 😀

I went back this afternoon, and found the mare standing protectively next to her new foal, which had plunked itself down in the grass for a lengthy nap.

She very kindly allowed me to take some pictures from a non-threatening distance, as I congratulated her for giving birth to such a handsome young fella! Or perhaps it’s a girl? I’ll have to find out for you!

Linda from the Millstone told me today that Milly May, their resident pig (see here and here in her younger and considerably smaller days, and here for the sad tale of when she got stuck), had at last farrowed (given birth) to a litter of seven young piglets – 3 black and 4 pink!

Here is a picture of Milly taken in May this year.

So the Daddy must have been Bastian after all!

Just to explain, in case you are mystified: Bastian was a very young pot-bellied pig that was rescued by the staff of the Millstone earlier this year. For a little while, because he was, after all, a very small (and innocent-looking) young pig, he shared Milly’s accommodation. It seems, however, that he shared much more than that. 😉

Oh, and as you can see, he is a black pot-bellied pig. 😉

Well, clearly one thing had led to another (though I blushingly admit that I am still quite baffled, given the sheer size difference between them) – see photo below, taken in May this year:

And thus poor Milly had been mooching around the farmstall for the last few months and weeks, dragging around a rounder and heavier belly with every passing day… until, last week sometime, I saw her lying on her side, completely immobile and clearly reluctant to move more than a twitching eyelid in acknowledgement of a friendly pat and some words of encouragement: “Hang in there, girl, it’s almost time.”

I didn’t have the heart to take any photos of her in such an undignified state, but I can tell you that we felt very, very sorry for her. So I was most relieved to hear that she had survived her ordeal and that there were now seven new young’uns!

When I dropped in at the farmstall this afternoon for a freshly squeezed and vitamin laden apple juice, Milly and her brood were cuddled together in her little ‘huisie’, apparently camera shy. So this extremely blurry picture of two or possibly three pink piggies is all I managed to get for you this time. But you may just be able to make out a little wriggly snout! OK, if you kind of scrunch your eyes a little…

9 thoughts on “New life at Oude Molen: A foal and a litter of pigs

    • Hi Glynnis – I’m eagerly waiting for Milly and her brood to emerge from their cosy huisie, so that the paparazzi (me ;-)) can snap some piccies for the blog!

      Oh, and please have a look at the poster (here) I’ve just put up on my blog about the meeting next Wednesday evening re the fate of Oude Molen. Perhaps you’d like to go to that meeting, particularly if you are planning an article about it?

  1. Thanks for that Reggie
    Sadly I cannot go to the meeting — but I do feel disappointed that Max and I were at Oude Molen this week visiting as many people as we could at the village, telling them about our community website, telling them about the article that is to be published in the community magazine, and still we don’t hear about the meeting. I don’t recognise the email address, so maybe we did not speak to the right people. We did leave our magazine at Riverside lodge and I followed up with a call to PJ. The eco village cannot expect Pinelands people to support them, if they do not get the word out. I do however wish them luck in their endeavours!

I'd love to hear your views

