I love My Cape Town too!!

Fellow South African Blogger Juanita from The Hiking Guide posted a fun music video by some South African musicians recently. I thought it was so cool and funky and catchy that I wanted to tell my friends and loyal readers about it too.

The song is called “My Cape Town” by I Scream and the Chocolate Stix, and it’s a colourful depiction of the amazing vibe in Cape Town at the moment, what with the World Cup and all the foreign visitors and everything!

In case the embedding doesn’t work, you can find the original video on Vimeo, or on Juanita’s blog here.

8 thoughts on “I love My Cape Town too!!

  1. For the benefit of any overseas readers who can’t make out all the words, I found the lyrics here – ENJOY!!:

    Look what you’ve made
    Cape Town the vision of my dreams
    and I know
    they’d love to be just like you

    my Cape Town,
    my Cape Town,
    they wanna be just like you

    my Cape Town,
    my Cape Town,
    la la la la la la la

    my Cape Town city she’s beau-ti-ful
    where we party till the dusk
    till the dust breaks dawn
    and the sun comes up in the early morning
    welcome to Cape Town city

    vu vu vuzela
    vu vu vuzela
    vu vu vuzela
    vu vu vuzela

    general crowd shouting

    hey hey
    “ah-umm”
    hey hey

    from the shores of Camps Bay
    picturesque sunsets
    and pretty faces from here to
    Plumstead
    Khayelitsha
    Gugulethu
    and Bishops Court mansions

    send my shout out Muizenberg
    Cape Town to Atlantis.

    They think you’re fake
    They think you’re fake
    but they don’t know you like I do
    but I know,
    but I know,
    they’d love to be just like you

    my Cape Town,
    my Cape Town
    they wanna be just like you
    my Cape Town,
    my Cape Town,
    la la la la la la la

    vu vu vuzela
    vu vu vuzela
    vu vu vuzela
    vu vu vuzela

    walking through the streets of the CBD
    to Long Street
    Green Market
    take a left on Bree
    up on the cable car
    rolling on the table top
    see the cloud cover coming
    over to the harbour drops

    2010
    kick off
    mzanzi we united
    I see a sea of fans blow their vuvuzela’s and excitement
    romance and
    vibrance
    afterparty starts
    on robben island
    my Cape Town,
    one of africa’s true diamonds

    so, you’re not so fake,
    you’re not so fake,
    coz they don’t know you like I do

    but I know,
    but I know
    they love to be just like you
    my Cape Town,
    my Cape Town,
    they wanna be just like you

    my Cape Town,
    my Cape Town,
    la la la la la la la
    la la la la la la la
    la la la la la la

    my Cape Town,
    my Cape Town,
    you know I’ll always love you

    vu vu vuzela
    vu vu vuzela
    vu vu vuzela
    vu vu vuzela
    vu vu vuzela
    vu vu vuzela

    they’d love be just like you

I'd love to hear your views

