10 thoughts on “Late autumn images

  1. A slide show! I like it very much! Hard to believe it’s late autumn there. How come our brains (um, my brain) keep forgetting that the seasons are turned around for half the world? I suppose it’s silly American myopia or something. Too long in the woods… You did a good job with this. Someday I would like to learn how to do a slide show.

    • LOL. Slideshows are easy, Kathy – you just upload all the photos you want, then you go to the Gallery (for that specific post), you give each photo a caption, if you like, and then you go right to the bottom of the page, where it says ‘insert slideshow’. I think the html code is simply [slideshow] with the square brackets. It will play all the pictures you uploaded for a specific post. You can also change the sequence, by numbering the photos and clicking on ‘save changes’. Or something like that. Give it a try, and let me know if it works. If it doesn’t, I’ll try to explain it better. 🙂

  2. great pics of the rain drops and the snails. Suggest you do a photo coffee table book out of your collection !

    I think rose hips can be made into a syrup or jam. If I find a recipe will let you know.

    • Thank you! I’m really curious to hear what you can do with rose hips, as there’s a lot at the moment. I vaguely remember a tea made of ‘hibiscus and rosehip’, or something like that, but I haven’t seen it around for many years.

  3. What beautiful, exotic garden snails you have Reggie. Your clothespins, however, look just like mine.

    Like Kathy, I too didn’t know how to create slideshows until you explained it. Thank you.

    As for rose hips… I have lots of recipes in a wonderful book called ‘All Good Things Around Us’ by Pamela Michael. There are two rose hip soups (one thin and one thick), a tarte of hips dating from the 1600s, a recipe for a Persian sweet that includes almonds, an eglantine sauce which can be used hot with chicken or cold with vanilla ice cream, a rose hip syrup that’s full of vitamin C and recipes for rose hip jam, jelly and wine. Do any of these appeal to you? If so, I will send you by email whatever your little heart desires.

  4. Hi Reggie,
    I had a look at your blog and I am really impressed at what I see. You are obviously an old hand at blogging, etc. and it shows!
    Nice posts about South Africa and other stuff.
    Very well done.
    I am still a newby, but just give me some time!
    If it is OK with you I want to put you on my blogroll.
    I want to also keep an eye on what you are doing.
    All the best!
    Jan

    • Hello there, Jan, thank you for leaving such a nice comment. 🙂 I’ve also added you to my blogroll – it’s so lovely to know of other bloggers in this area of the world.

I'd love to hear your views

