Our favourite meals at the Millstone Farm Stall

In her comment on a recent post of mine about the chickens of Oude Molen, my blogfriend Kathy got very hungry when I told her about the amazing quiches served at the Millstone Farm Stall.

So I promised her that I would post a picture… although this may make her even more hungry. … Um… Sorry, Kathy! You’ll just have to visit this place some day! In the meantime, I hope you will vicariously enjoy these with me.

Right, so here are some of our favourite meals at the Millstone Farm Stall. Actually, I would have even more such photos, but family and friends don’t entirely seem to appreciate my compulsion to take pictures of the food we eat. It’s most odd, really. I just can’t understand their protests, can you? I mean, just LOOK at these dishes. Don’t they make your mouth water and your tummy grrowl?

It is always good to start the day with a healthy breakfast of farm-fresh bread from the woodfired oven, with a portion of jam and cheese, accompanied by a pot of tea.

A mid-morning snack of warm scones with strawberry jam and cream, or if you prefer, a plate of flapjacks with maple syrup, and a large chococcino, would not go amiss!

For lunch you can build up your energy reserves to sustain you for the rest of the day with a spinach and feta cheese quiche, with a serving of salad from the farm to make it all even more nutritious. And you can treat yourself to a freshly squeezed apple juice – sweet and filling enough for a meal all on its own!

Or, if you don’t like spinach so much, I can recommend their butternut and feta quiche with a healthy side salad.

Or can we excite you with a portion of grilled vegetables, accompanied by a glass of sparkling apple juice or Appletiser?

If you don’t like your salads without dressing, you can drizzle some olive oil or balsamic vinegar over it.

And as a mid-afternoon reward for all the work you’ve completed earlier in the day, you can hungrily wolf down a piece of moist carrot cake, with a large chococcino on the side – guaranteed to fill you with all the voomah you need!

Or if you prefer, you can have a large piece of chocolate-and-beetroot cake, which tastes absolutely heavenly!

A capuccino will give you a caffeine-induced burst of energy to finish the rest of the work that still clutters your desk and to send off those few remaining emails that still demand a reply before the day’s work is done.

And, last but definitely not least, our favourite treat are these super-rich, calorie-bomb chocolate brownies! If you’re lucky, there may even be some left in the shop so that you can take them home with you for a post-dinner pudding. Ahhhh… pure decadence.

20 thoughts on “Our favourite meals at the Millstone Farm Stall

    • Hi Truels – yes, I know you and your family will like it there too. I really hope that the place will stay open for a while – with all the political changes happening in South Africa, and given the shortage of housing in central Cape Town, there is always the threat that the entire village will disappear under yet another greedy developers’ housing estate. So that is why I go there so often, to show my support and to keep track of what is happening.

  1. The chocolate and beetroot cake sounds fab, to say the least, will definatly be going there, and to hhhhhhhhhhhhh
    with the diet.
    Great photo’s. look foreward to all your latest news.

    • Hi Pauline – well, as I see it, their breakfast and lunch meals are actually so nutritious and healthy that – if you can resist the lure of the chocolate brownies – you really wouldn’t be breaking any diet rules. πŸ˜‰ It’s rather nice to think of a blogfriend actually going to one of my favourite places to explore and investigate… I hope you’ll like the place too. Just bear in mind that it’s rustic. But the food is goooood. And the entertainment value of the chickens, dogs and horses is unsurpassed in the middle of Cape Town. πŸ˜‰

  2. reggie, is the eco village in Pinelands, and is it open every day, or perhaps only on Saturdays?
    I hear tell that at the Josephine mill, on every Saturday they now also have a market
    Plus a huge one in Stellenbosch. Latest world trend been following some of them on D S T V in France, the Strawberries, Oh Boy.

    • Hi Pauline –

      Yes, Oude Molen Eco Village is just on the border of Pinelands. It is off Alexandra Road, which is where the Vincent Pallotti Hospital is.

      I’m trying to copy a link from Google Maps here. Let’s see if it works.

      So, coming from the N2, heading out from town, you would take the Raapenberg Road turn-off into Pinelands. Just before the traffic light (which you don’t go through), you keep in the left lane, which is a sliplane onto Alexandra Road. Go straight through a traffic light – on your left is the turn-off to the Vincent Pallotti Hospital. Keep going straight, with the railway line on your right. When you see the Pinelands station building on your right, you will see a side-road to your left, and a sign to the Oude Molen Eco Village. Turn left here. Go through the booms – during the mornings, security will stop you, but during the afternoons, the booms are up. Tell security that you’re going to the Millstone Farm Stall. Keep left and follow the road around – it’ll curve to the right, and take you straight towards paddocks with horses. There’s a parking area there, in front of the Millstone Farm Stall. Park, and go in through the little wicker gate. And enjoy! πŸ™‚

      The eco village is open every day, but the Millstone is closed on Mondays. On all the other days, Tuesday to Sunday, they are open from 9 to 5. They do sometimes close early when it is extremely hot or very wet, or if they haven’t had any customers. But between 9 and 3 is a good time. πŸ™‚

    • Fabulous, I really hope you’ll like it there.

      Just one final thing: Please don’t be put off by the surroundings. The old buildings here used to be part of the Valkenberg asylum and hospital. Some time in the 1980s or 1990s (I think?), they fell into disuse and many of the buildings were abandoned and vandalised and damaged. So parts of the village look very run-down, dilapidated and neglected, and there are some strange and murky characters hanging around. BUT I have heard that many of the tenants are putting in a lot of effort, time and money into upgrading their premises. And those are the ones I would like to support. The farm stall, the horse paddocks, the Gaia Waldorf school and the Play Shed (all very close to each other) are all VERY nice. Just, as I said, bear in mind that it is a very rustic place. πŸ™‚

      When you go, you can ask in the shop if Linda is around – she and her husband Paul run the farmstall, and they are very approachable. If she has time, she may even chat with you a while about the place. πŸ™‚

      I’m so thrilled that you’re planning to go there, Pauline. πŸ˜€

  3. For goodness sake Reggie! What mouth-watering fare! (BTW you made that book opening process pretty intense too in your last post).

    I’m going for a picnic this afternoon in the woods with my friend Sybil whom I met through my blog. We’ll likely have cucumber sandwiches. No time to make quiche (though I do make a good one). So much wish you and Kathy could accompany us.

    • Hello Amy

      So did you enjoy those food pictures too, hm? Made your tummy rumble, hm? I must say, just looking at them makes my mouth water. They advertise a lot of different dishes on their boards (Note to self: I must take some photos of those!), but I tend to be a rather unadventurous eater. When I find something I like, and that doesn’t cause any allergies to flare up, then that’s what I stick to.

      Ahh! Picnic! In the woods! With a blog friend! How amazing is that! I also wish that Kathy and I could both be there too! We’d so love that! πŸ˜€ I’ll tag along in spirit, shall I? Is that okay, Amy? πŸ™‚

  4. Reggie, tagging along in spirit is always ok πŸ™‚ The picnic was lovely but would have been better without the blackflies that seemed to be out in full force this afternoon. We got lost in the woods but not for too long πŸ˜‰

    • Hi Amy – I’m pleased you had a nice picnic and very sorry about the blackflies. Are those a type of midge or mosquito? Do they bite? And, knowing you, getting lost in the woods was probably a lot of fun and perhaps even the best part of your picnic!

  5. This food looks so delicious, and the Milestone farm like a wonderful place. To bad it is that far away from here, otherwise I would surely go there.

    The last answer you wrote, mentioning allergy and sticking to the same food made me smile, because I am doing exactly the same, choosing the same food, that I know wonΒ΄t cause allergy. IΒ΄d rather be uninventive and safe, than spoil an exiting dinner with worrying about how it is made. Maybe one has to be allergy sufferer to understand. πŸ™‚

    • Hi Birgitte – Yes, I should think that Oude Molen is a liiiiiittle far away for you to pop over for a cup of chococcino and a chocolate brownie! πŸ™‚ But I wonder whether you don’t have similar places in Denmark? I’m curious about that.

      And I’m so glad you understand about the allergies – it does make one more cautious and less adventurous when trying different dishes. Before I do try anything new, I always try to ask the waiter or chef what exactly is in it, or sometimes what isn’t in it. But this doesn’t always work, and people look at you funny when you seem to interrogate them about ingredients! I’m allergic to shellfish, for instance, and so I am careful when I go to a seafood restaurant (it can’t always be avoided), because they use the same cooking utensils for dishes containing shellfish. But one can’t exactly go into the kitchen and look around! So that is why I don’t like going out for meals to unfamiliar restaurants, or why I stick to ‘safer’ alternatives like salads.

      I also don’t like a lot of dressings, sauces or spices in my food – I like salads and vegetables to taste the way they were made by nature! I don’t see the point in drowning them in gooey mayonnaise or soya sauces (urgh) to “enhance their look and flavour” by using MSG, flavourants, colourants and soya derivatives. As you can guess, I am not easy to cook for, if you like to mix all kinds of ingredients together! Although I actually think I am! Just give me a plate of simply prepared, steamed, grilled, baked or cooked veggies or a large bowl of salad, perhaps with a slice of bread on the side, and I am utterly content.

  6. I know, I feel exactly the same when I look at that food. It isn’t helping that I’m on a cleansing diet at the moment, which means no chocolate brownies and definitely no chococcinos for two long weeks. I look forward to treating myself when it’s over!

I'd love to hear your views

