More books for sale shortly!

My assistants and I are busy compiling another list of books I would like to sell, in addition to the ones listed here.

The team is hard at work, helping me to sort the books thematically first and then by author – and identifying the ones they want to keep, like the “Tao of Pooh” and the “Te of Piglet”, to go with the Winnie-the-Pooh collection they love so much

Earlier today, I collected about 7 boxes full of my books from Mom, who’d been storing them for me for the last… er… well, a few years. She’s now left with some very, very empty bookshelves. Not sure what we’re gonna do with them yet.

Teddy (just plain loved-to-bits Teddy) snuggles up to Ken Wilber’s everything-but-brief “Brief History of Everything”, while the youngsters behind him engage in such vigorous literary acrobatics that the bookpiles are wobbling alarmingly

There’s some really excellent quality books in there, dating back to my postgraduate studies at UCT in the 1990s. It’s been a proverbial blast from the past, I can tell you. I’m reminded of all the setwork books I had to read and the additional reading we were expected to do… Ah… I think those really were the good ol’ days.

Professor Rupert the Bear supervises from afar, while T Edward Bear climbs up to the top of a pile for a closer look at Joseph Conrad’s “Lord Jim”, and Beanie-Bear is getting stuck into Penelope Farmer’s “Away from Home”

It’s been like meeting some long-lost friends, shaking hands, bear-hugging, chattering away and lots of how’s-your-father’s and oh-my-goodness, fancy-meeting-you-here’s, and what-have-you-been-up-to-since-we-were-at-varsity-together’s!

Naturally, this takes a not inconsiderable amount of time.

Dale McGregor, from the little hamlet of McGregor in the Western Cape, is curious about Jan Morris’ “Journeys” – perhaps he has a secret yearning to travel?

I’ll post it as soon as I – sorry, we – have sorted through them.

Beanie-Bear and Baboose-the-Moose debate the relative merits of South American fiction that has been translated into English

Please bear with us just a little while longer.

9 thoughts on “More books for sale shortly!

    • Well, my assistants toddled off to bed – they’re having a bit of a lie-in this morning because it’s cold and wet and raining and still dark outside. Can’t say I blame them.

  1. food for thought. Thanks for this one. Love the Bears that help you. I was doing some sorting of books a few years ago now, and I had as company, E T from the film, a huggable chimpanzee, lots of assorted bears, and a black paper mache spider which I gave the name Martha. We still have Martha, and she is a great conversation piece.
    Happy sorting, and please give liberal doses of Honey,as they work very well on this.

    • Honey, huh? Hm… I think, in this case, perhaps, honey-sticky paws may not mix all that well with paper.

      You know how bears get carried away when you give them a jar of honey…

      It all starts so innocently, with a self-effacing, “Oh, I’m not all that hungry. I think I’ll just have one little lick. And then I’ll go right back to work.”

      And then they notice that someone else has swiped a whole paw-full, and that starts them squabbling over whose turn it is.

      And before you know it, they’re upside-down, head-first in the jar, trying to lick the last gooey globs of honey off the inside. Getting that stuff out of their ears and from between their joints is a sticky job, I can tell you.

      But now that we’re DONE with the job, of course, I think I’ll reward them each with a big dessert spoon of their own to lick clean. 😉

      And love to Martha! 🙂

  2. I could have used some cute bear assistants when I tidied my book shelves on Saturday! Only one book landed in my get-rid-of pile: Fundamental Statistics. Not much of a page turner that one. 🙂

    • LOL – do you want to borrow mine? They’re very helpful, although they do tend to get carried away sometimes when they find a really good children’s book… like The Phantom Tollbooth or The Secret Garden or any of the Enid Blyton books on my shelf – they really like those. Then they disappear into a corner, all huddled together, while Teddy and Prof Rupert the Bear read out aloud to them. Sooo cute! All big eyes and twitching paws as they get swept up in the story.

      • I don’t think I ever read ‘Mary and her friends’. Some years ago, though, I bought a couple of children’s books from garage sales and flea markets, and such, and it was wonderful to re-visit one’s childhood that way. Oh, how I used to LOVE going to the library.

        My local library when I was growing up was the Kloof Street Library. I remember when it was still near the lower intersection of Kloof Nek, where the post office used to be too. Then when I was a teenager the library moved to Kloof Street, right opposite Checkers/Shoprite. And some time later, they moved up to the top end of Kloof Street, opposite the shoemaker, who used to sell and repair my school shoes, although at that time, he was still in the tiny little shops adjacent to where the library now is. I only stopped going to the KSL regularly when we moved to Pinelands a few years ago, but I still regard it as “MY” library. Funny, hey?

        I hope I’m not confusing you. Does this make sense? Which library was “yours”?

      • I also *loved* the library as a child. I grew up in East London – I remember Beacon Bay library like I was there yesterday, also the main library in the city centre. They used to have a book fair there every year, I remember meeting the lady who wrote the Wombles stories. I also belonged to the Puffin Club and used to get parcels of books from them regularly, so exciting! When I moved to Cape Town I used to frequent the Rondebosch library. Nowadays I don’t belong to any library. Most of my books come from book club, or friends or second hand shops. Never a shortage of things to read, just free time to do the actual reading!

        Regarding Mary… picture book from the late 60s, illustrations my Marcel Marlier. Google him… you’ve never seen anything so gaudy! I loved that book so much, I studied every detail of every picture.

I'd love to hear your views

