“Surprise me?”

A message from Matt, one of the super-creative geniuses of WordPress, arrived in my email today. The link took me to a notification called, enticingly, Surprise me.

Matt said:

“It’s the start of a beautiful weekend. Whether it’s raining or shining outside, if you’re reading this you can probably count yourself among the most fortunate folks on the planet.

Perhaps you’re feeling particularly adventurous. You should check out the new “Surprise Me” feature.

To activate, go to your Personal Settings page, check the appropriate box, and save.

I’m not going to tell you exactly what it does. If you’re open to new things and serendipitity in your blogging life try leaving it on as you go about your normal blogging activities of posting, commenting, checking your stats, and such, and see what pops up.

Enjoy the weekend, let me know what you think, and on Monday I’ll be able to reveal more.”

Now tell me, how can one possibly resist such temptation?

One can’t.

Well, I certainly can’t.

So I followed the steps, and am now waiting in breathless anticipation for whatever surprise Matt has in store for us!

15 thoughts on ““Surprise me?”

    • Hello Milo and Alfie

      I’m thrilled that you popped in for a visit! Welcome!

      The ginger cat in the header is an adorable kitty we met during our weekend stay at a cottage in the Olifants River Mountains (if you’re curious, this post contains the links to the posts I wrote about that trip). We don’t know what her name is, but we nicknamed her “Lilly-Beth” on account of the fact that we were staying in “Lilly Cottage” at the time, and she seemed to ‘belong’ there. Honestly, I forgot to ask her whether she had her own blog! Perhaps she does?!

      We do have a resident cat on this blog though; her name is Tuffy-Cat. You can find the links to all the posts written about her in the sidebar on the right-hand side. You’ll need to scroll down a bit. She hasn’t written any posts herself, though… I’ll try to ask her why. I think it’s because she would prefer to write them at night-time, when we’re asleep, so that I don’t interrupt her to correct her spelling (!), but then the computer is asleep too, and she can’t switch it on herself.

    • Hi Cinderella – welcome to my blog. 🙂

      Well, so far, I’ve had an additional hyperlink on the Stats Page – “Humanize”, which is really interesting and unusual! And when posting a new post, there’s a little tickbox that says “This post is super-awesome”.

      Those are the only ones I’ve spotted. And you?

    • Oh dear, I’m so sorry, Aiden. Um…

      [NB!!! Spoiler Alert!]

      Have you seen on your Blog Stats page that we now have a new hyperlink at the top called ‘Humanize’? If you click on that, it tells you not only that you have … number of views so far today, but also how many people live in xyz place somewhere. 🙂 Or some variation on that. I *think* that was one of the surprises.

      The second surprise happened to me when I was ready to publish a post last night – I noticed that there was a new line near the ‘Publish’ information, stating “This post is super-awesome” and you can tick it. When I then clicked ‘Publish’, a pop-up window appeared, and a video started to play, of a golfer (I think Tiger Woods, but I don’t know!) putting a ball into the hole… it almost didn’t go in, and then it did. The energy and excitement of that happening was simply amazing! Very inspirational!

      I haven’t yet seen whether there are any other surprises. Matt hasn’t mentioned any either.

  1. Hi Reggie. No, I haven’t had a chance to post something yet. But I have seen the Humanize tab but so far only shows number of views and when I click on the number it brings me to a Wikipedia page about that particular number. Not too exciting yet, but I can’t wait to post something! Maybe I’ll have to post something that’s not quite ready yet just to see what happens!

    • Hi Miki – I wonder whether there are other settings and tools that I don’t habitually use, where surprises are lurking? I saw another video clip yesterday, though it wasn’t as exciting as the first one. I also now think that the video appears independently of ticking the box next to “this is a super-awesome post”.

      Keep me posted! I’m very keen to find out what other surprises there are.

I'd love to hear your views

