And kaleidoscope fun with a hibiscus blossom

For this third set of kaleidoscope images, I used this simple hibiscus blossom as the basis.

A hibiscus blossom captures the sunlight

I find these images absolutely extraordinary.

By tweaking seven parameters (horizontal offset, vertical offset, rotation angle, scale factor, number of petals, number of orbits, and the strangely named radial suction), I can basically tell the computer which areas of the original photo to use.

And then it generates a seemingly infinite range of colourful patterns.

I remember playing with a very primitive but no less magical kaleidoscope when I was very little, and being mesmerized by the fact that the seemingly arbitrary arrangements of little colourful beads at the bottom of a tube could create such enchanting patterns.

It took me a while to realise that it’s actually the play of cleverly arranged mirrors that causes the patterns. πŸ™‚

I also remember that feeling deep inside that the world could be a magical place, filled with colour, joy and creativity, if we only looked at it from the right angle.

11 thoughts on “And kaleidoscope fun with a hibiscus blossom

  1. Good morning, from a fellow South African. Kathy suggested I visit your blog. Just love the pictures. Especially the horses in a previous entry. Chat soon πŸ™‚

    PS, PSP rocks … don’t know why people suggest I get Adobe *G*

    • Hello Trudie, fellow S’Effrican! πŸ˜€ Delighted that you have popped in on my blog! I confess that I visited your blog yesterday, but I was too shy to leave a comment. I’ll need to remedy that ASAP. πŸ™‚

      Very glad you like the pics. The horses were just… wow… I still can’t believe it happened. Man, do I wish I’d been there!

      PS – YES, I agree! I recently discovered all kinds of photo-tweaking functions on PSP… like the toothbrush that cleans and brightens your teeth even more effectively than using Colgate and Aquafresh for years, and the skin smoothing cream that actually almost removes wrinkles without costing a penny and without making your nose itch from the perfumes, and the blemish fixer that quickly conceals the evidence of chocolate-and-ice-cream indulgences… But I must add that I always keep the original version as a reality check. ;-D

  2. Hello South Africa! Nice blog! Very beautiful and special these kaleidoscope-pictures you made, Reggie. I must try this in Paint Shop Pro. Also nice to have a look at your South African pictures. I have wanted to go the long way down there for a long time, but until then I’ll check your pictures….

    • Hello Truels – thank you for stopping by and leaving a comment! I hope you’ll enjoy some of the pictures of South Africa – and who knows, maybe you’ll take your own pics of this amazing country one day.

I'd love to hear your views

