Thirsty bees

I was working in the garden this afternoon, and had switched on the fountain to encourage bird visitors to splash about in the refreshingly cold water.

Instead of birds, though, we were visited by bees – Apis mellifera capensis to be precise.

I’d seen an unusual number of dead bees during the last few weeks, so it was a pleasant surprise to see that they hadn’t all died!

Several of them took turns finding a dry spot to perch, while they drank, carefully and gratefully.I was amazed at how clearly you can see the proboscis, which they use to drink.

Afterwards, they returned to their task of collecting pollen from the flowering plants.

2 thoughts on “Thirsty bees

  1. we have a lot of bees especially yellow jackets in our hedges searching, searching – we’ve had a long dry spell and it occurred to me that they might be thirsty – i put a plastic plate in the garden with water in it and am hoping them can find it – my concern is that we have just hatched a praying mantis egg in the hedges and i’m wondering if the bees are going after them – they’re still young – they could be a juicy morsel for the bees, i’m afraid – can you give me some advice on what i can do to help them all out . . . .
    thank you so much!

    • Hello Helen, welcome to my blog! I don’t think that bees go after praying mantises or their eggs. I don’t actually know what bees eat! 🙂 Perhaps one of my brilliant readers will know what advice to give you.

I'd love to hear your views

