Hiking in the Helderberg Nature Reserve: The yellow trail

Two weeks ago, we met up with a friend of ours in Somerset West, and decided to explore the Yellow Trail at the Helderberg Nature Reserve.  The gates to the reserve only open at 7h30 (unless you have become a Friend of the Reserve, and are lucky enough to get the keys!), and so we joined the queue of cars waiting (im)patiently at the gate.

Once we had paid our entrance fee of R10 a person and R5 for our car, we found parking on the spacious parking area between the Information Centre (Tel: 021 851 4060 and open from 10h00 to 16h30 – it has a topographic model of the reserve and the various trails) and the Oak Café (previously the Duck Inn). They serve breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea, and can be contacted on Tel 021 851 7256 or Cell 082 908 3062.

Plaque at entrance to the walking trails

We took a few moments to get our bearings according to the small map I had printed out from the internet.

There are several hiking trails up the mountain: the yellow trail (2.2 km), the black trail (4.4 km), the blue trail (6.5 km), the red trail (8.2 km), the green trail (about 4 hours of walking time), the pink trail (which is to the top of the mountain and requires climbing equipment), and the brown trail (4 km). All of them, except for the brown trail, are circular routes.

As we hadn’t done any hiking in this reserve, and as we wanted to proceed systematically, we decided to tackle the yellow trail first. According to the description, this was also the shortest route. The website estimated that it would take us about 35 minutes walking time – but, as I discovered, this definitely excludes the obligatory photography time! In the end, it took us almost an hour. Roughly speaking, this route goes up the one side of the lower mountain slopes, crosses a densely wooded river valley to the opposite side, and then descends via an easy gravel road back to the parking area.

From time to time, we encountered rustic wooden route markers, like this one. Very handy! Particularly when there are a couple of tracks turning off left and right!

A route marker

We turned left, vaguely in the direction of the ‘duck pond’, which lay below us to our left, the deep blue of the sky reflected in its clear water. Not long afterwards, the path turned right, up the mountain side.

Path heading uphill

The tall shrubs lining our path on both sides for most of the ascent gave us a bit of shade, which was most welcome on this hot day, and many of the bushes were covered in flowers. A rich diversity of fynbos species grows here, including countless proteas and ericas.

I didn’t want to irritate my fellow-walkers too much by stopping and taking photos all the time, but nonetheless did spend most of the hike trailing behind further and further because something had caught my eye, and having to trot after them (uphill!) to catch up. Sorry, guys!

Pant-pant-gasp-wheeze!

Almost all the flowers on this Protea eximia bush (see here) had dried up, but I found one beautiful flower that had survived – perhaps it had waited for me and my camera!

Protea eximia

I think this is a Protea aurea (see here), but I’m really not sure.

A Protea aurea or not?

I don’t know what kind of Protea this is, but I thought it was beautiful with its spoon-shaped bright-pink bracts.

Protea flower

Is this a Protea bush or a Leucospermum? The sun shining through the reddish leaves is so pretty!

What kind of plant is this?

And how could one NOT stop to admire, lingeringly, this spectacular Leucospermum cordifolium?

Leucospermum cordifolium

We also heard and saw a number of birds, but they didn’t settle down long enough for me to get a clear picture.

After trudging (and sprinting) uphill for some time, and about 20 minutes after starting our hike, we reached a gate in the fence that seemed to separate the lower part of the reserve from the higher slopes. The text on the green board said, sternly: “Have I killed a buck today? Please close the gate. Dogs kill antelope.”

The gate to the upper section of the reserve

We dutifully closed the gate behind us.

Now look at this view! Doesn’t it just invite you to stop and gaze and breathe deeply?

Path with a breath-taking view

Shortly after walking through the gate, the path all but disappeared among thick bracken and ferns. It was refreshingly cool and shady amongst all this greenery. I was very much aware of the fact that we might encounter snakes – such as the Cape Cobra and the Puffadder – on the mountain, so I trod warily here.

Overgrown path

After walking more or less on the level for a while, and crossing the little forested river valley to the opposite side, we came to a route marker, which indicated that the blue, black and brown walks went UP, that-a-way! 🙂

Next time, next time!

Today, though, we went through another gate to re-enter the lower reaches of the reserve, and followed the yellow trail markers back down the hill.

Oooh, look! Aren’t these pretty?

Close-up of delicate purple flowers

While my fellow hikers marched on ahead, speeding up because the path was now leading us steadily down the hill, I lingered on the hillside a little longer, to take in the beauty of our surroundings.

Doesn’t this kind of view make you just breathe deeply?

Breeeaathe!

I wonder how high up the mountain these trails go?

Looking back up the path we had just come down

Grasses, fluttering in the breeze.

Grasses in the breeze

Judging from the blackened bushes and charred remains of trees, a fire must have swept through this area not so long ago. These curious yellow flowers had sprung up everywhere on the hillside.

Yellow flowers

I always find it so magical that some flowering plants actually need fire (from time to time) in order for them to grow (see here):

Yellow flower with insects

By about quarter to 9h00, we reached the Information Centre and followed the path down to the picnic areas on the opposite side of the road.

The information centre in the foreground

When we arrived this morning, I’d spotted a group of bontebok (this is what they look like) right next to the road, and I was keen to see whether we could find them again. Of course, they had disappeared. After an extensive search proved inconclusive, we went up to the restaurant to reward ourselves for our exertions with a bite to eat at the Oak Café.

Breakfast was okay, but nothing spectacular – I think hubby and I had something called ‘Acorn’. This included no acorns (whew!), but instead a fried egg, two rashers of bacon, and a slice of toast; the lettuce and tomato on the side of the plate, though, had definitely seen better days, and we couldn’t bring ourselves to eat them. Our friend had a passable French toast. Next time, I think we’ll bring a picnic instead!

A little stream, hidden among the dense vegetation, tinkled and splashed alongside the restaurant. I quite liked these unusual bulrushes…

Bulrushes

… and the flowering agapanthus(es).

Agapanthus

Not quite ready to leave just yet, we decided to stroll around the duck pond, which we had glimpsed earlier. Some very hardworking people at the Reserve had constructed a wonderful and sturdy wooden walkway all around the large pond. And someone had put up a most useful information board with drawings of the various birds living in the reserve and their names.

Wooden walkway overlooking the wetland

I learned, for instance, that this was a spur-winged goose. Beautiful, no?

A spurwinged goose

The whole area just exuded peace and tranquility. Benches dotted about invited the visitor to take a break from the stress of everyday life and work, and to relax, deeply. Hmmmm…..

What a pretty pond!

Blue-ish water lilies were growing along the sides of the pond.

Water lilies on the pond

Red hot pokers (which I think belong to the geophytes) were growing near the water’s edge.

Red hot pokers

What a view!

A glorious view of the mountain

Sigh…

View of pond with mountain beyond

We definitely want to come back here and to explore more of the trails available in the reserve. What a wonderful, magical place!

—–

Notes:

  • Here is an aerial view of the reserve on Google Maps.
  • You can find a map of the various trails available in the reserve here. Apparently, they are being redesigned for 2010, but I think the map is still valid for now.

28 thoughts on “Hiking in the Helderberg Nature Reserve: The yellow trail

    • I so agree. Everytime we go out into the forests and mountains to hike, there’s something amazing and magical to see and experience. Kathy’s blog really brought that home to me – the idea that you “just” have to go outside every day, open to possibilities, and that there will be SOMETHING new or different or unusual.

    • Hi Sally!
      Welcome to my blog! I’m really thrilled that you left a comment, and that you enjoyed seeing a little bit of our wonderful country. It’s nice to have different/opposite weather in the northern/southern hemispheres. 🙂
      I also had a look at your blog – I’m going to add it to my list of blogs to keep an eye on. 🙂 And the story of your son Andy was so touching and well-written: I wish him all the very best for his future.
      See you around!

  1. Hi,
    You take wonderful pictures.
    It is really great you took pictures of the plants since so many plants are unique to some areas. The plants really help share the story about the wildlife who exist in an area too because the wildlife are bitting and eating them.

    I used to spend a lot of time hiking in BC’s coastal mountains and the berries remind you the bears are close by.

    On one BC hike I took a picture from Needle Peak in BC that I have on my blogs home page here. http://www.TheWonderTechnique.com
    I also have a smaller picture of the Himalaya Mtns I took while I was in Pasu. This picture is on my about page. It is amazing to compare the difference in the shapes of the mountains.
    Go Nature Go!

    Keep enjoying the blessing of nature,
    David

    • Thank you, Lakia – and welcome. You know, I’d always read of bulrushes in books, but I’d never actually seen what they look like, so it was exciting to find out what this was. Of the flower photos, I liked the Leucospermum cordifolium best, *I think*, but it’s real difficult to choose a favourite.

    • Awww, thank you, Kathy. Your blog from last year (Opening the door, walking outside) was a constant reminder to do just that: open the door, go outside, see and smell and touch the world, take all the photos you want, and then tell your friends far and wide about the beautiful, exciting, challenging, sad, uplifting, strange, …. world out there.

  2. Absolutely beautiful! And I must say, I happen to agree with SallyK. Here in the Northwest, we are experiencing some spring type weather (our daffodils are almost blooming), but with our typically rainy and gloomy skies today, reading your post breathed new life into me and has inspired me to begin plans on a section of our garden.

    I’m really looking forward to reading much more of your work and of your adventures! Thanks for the mini break! 🙂

    Tara

    • Hi Tara, welcome to my blog! It’s really nice to get comments from interesting people in other areas of the world, so thank you for yours. Have fun with your garden! I’ll keep an eye on your blog, in case you post pictures of what you’re doing there. See you again! 🙂

  3. What fabulous photos and, as you say, the SCENERY …… I’m so pleased you do the hiking for me ! But I did breathe in deeply as I followed your hike & felt refreshed by the pictures if not the mountain air. Keep hiking, kiddo !

  4. a little bee –
    i happened upon this flower
    and drank deeply

    You did such a nice job, it took me there in many ways.

    PS: regarding the quote below your blog name, is that yours?

    • Hi Qazse (what does your name mean, by the way?) – cute poem! Glad you buzzed by. 😉 The quote below the blog name is from William Blake, “Auguries of Innocence” (quoted in full here). I’ve always really liked those lines.

  5. Cute pun. 🙂

    Thank you for the Blake link! That is an awesome poem. I need to return to it tomorrow when I have more time read it again.

    “Qazse” has no actual meaning. I think its origin is its presence on the lettered keyboard in the shape of a “V”. I took it as a pen name.

  6. Hi Reggie,
    What a lovely article! I stumbled upon it while trying to locate the number of the Nature Reserve for my son who is doing a project on Fynbos. Thanks for including those numbers and what a bonus to see your article! Lovely pictures. We are extremely lucky to be living on the Helderberg walking distance from the protea farms adjacent to the Helderberg Nature Reserve. I walk from my house to the little Cafe usually once a week. Sometimes right over the top and sometimes up to the cliffs and round. If one goes quietly there are all sorts of creatures to see. About two months ago I saw two Lynx (Caracal), and we see dassies, the beautiful tiny little Cape grysbok, and klipspringer. The little orange breasted sunbird is breathtaking and is quite easy to spot within 100metres of the Oaks Cafe as is the Malachite sunbird. But one needs to be quiet which is difficult when with a group who are all oohing an aahing at the beauty!
    Thanks once again.
    Chris

    • Hi Chris,
      And what a wonderful comment to leave! 😀 It’s left me absolutely beaming. You are so lucky to live near the nature reserve, because it is truly a magical place. I don’t know whether you saw that I also wrote a description of the Blue Trail. We are planning to tackle the other trails too, and are looking forward to seeing more of the reserve.

  7. Hello Reggie, The scenery is so very inspiring, thank you for sharing this beauty with us.Already I am refreshed mentally !
    have great hikes, for me.The photo’s are stunning.

    • Hi Pauline – you’re very welcome. I’m glad you popped by and enjoyed the post and pics. I hope we’ll get a chance to explore the other trails in the Helderberg nature reserve too, because it sure is an extraordinary area. Do you go hiking there too?

I'd love to hear your views

