Apologies…

… to my regular readers.

I apologise profusely for not updating my blog in ages!

It’s not that there haven’t been exciting things to tell you about. But I have been a little snowed under (though not in the literal sense, as our temperatures are currently soaring into the high 20s and early 30s – Celsius that is – and so there ain’t any snow down here right now).

One of the hazards of working freelance is that it is tricky to get the timing right when it comes to accepting jobs.

Sometimes there are weeks of drought, where the River of Abundance has dried up into a narrow, muddy trickle that is hardly able to flow over the rocks and between the silt sandbanks. And the fridge, the pantry and my piggy bank get progressively emptier.

Rattle, rattle, clink.

Oh dear.

You end up wondering whether NO ONE out there loves and needs you. And you scan the horizon, looking for signs of life.

Teacher's house in deserted village of Kolmanskop (Namibia)

And then there moments – like now – when the River of Abundance comes down in a flood, and you’re piling up sandbags and trying to funnel the roaring torrent into neat little canals, so that as many of your drought-stricken fields can receive nourishment as possible. And so that you can manage and compartmentalise your time, attention and resources most effectively.

I’m not complaining, mind you! It’s VERY nice to earn a bit of moolah before the inevitable festive season spending spree!

I’m just saying that it sure would be easier on the swollen fingers, aching hands, stiff neck and tired eyes – all those nasty side-effects of excessive computer work – if said River of Abundance could flow juuuuuust a little more evenly and reliably.

So you could maybe, inbetween like, have a quiet sit-down by the water’s edge, dangling your feet in the cold, clean mountain stream, and sipping a refreshing cup of tea, while listening to the birds singing and twittering all around you.

Bliss….

Pretty Stream at Glendalough (Ireland)

I gotta go…

8 thoughts on “Apologies…

  1. I know JUST how you feel!! Have the same trouble myself. I so enjoy the blogging, and connecting with so many lovely fellow-bloggers – but desperately hard to fit it all in , when pressures of life/work get overwhelming.
    So good to know I am not the only one facing these challenges!! Good luck, and may the piggy bank ever be full ๐Ÿ™‚

    • It does indeed, Slamdunk. ๐Ÿ™‚ As soon as I can see the horizon again, I’ll have some serious catching up to do, reading all my favourite bloggers’ posts over the last month!

      Although we don’t celebrate it here in Sunny SA, I hope you have a Happy Thanksgiving!

  2. Reggie, I know exactly how you feel! It is such a struggle to stay balanced when there is no balance to work opportunities. You either have time or money. Never both at once.

    I love the image of that deserted teacher’s house.

    • ๐Ÿ™‚ Thanks, Amy.

      I also love that image. Kolmanskuppe is a very strange place, in the middle of the desert near Lรผderitz in southern Namibia. It used to be inhabited by diamond seekers at the turn of the last century. But it was abandoned after a few years, and then the desert winds blew in the sands, and covered everything. It’s a little spooky and eerie, but also really beautiful from a photographer’s point of view. I think I’ll have to post some more pics of it. ๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Oh dear, Reggie, feeling for you. Like Amy just said, it’s such a balance sometimes isn’t it? It’s like why do all the vegetables in the garden ripen ALL AT ONCE? (Well, I guess they don’t, but sometimes it seems like it.) When you’re sitting there in the kitchen canning and freezing and drying and it’s way too much and you think “Why didn’t the Universe space this out more evenly?” Why can’t that River of Abundance flow divided evenly through 12 months? I suppose it’s because we wouldn’t know the fallow periods, the dry spells, the Mystery of Life. You think?

    • That is seriously wise, Kathy. I’ll toast to that.

      As you can see, I *still* haven’t had the time to update my blog. Ayayay!

      By the way, are you busy canning and freezing and drying veggies again?! I’d better pop on over to your blog to check that out.

I'd love to hear your views

