Do you know the name of these flowers?

We have clusters of these plants dotted around the shady areas of our garden. They seem to propagate themselves without much input from us. I like those kinds of plants. πŸ™‚

What's this called?

What’s this called?

As you can see, they look a bit like hen-and-chickens (Chlorophytum comosum), but I don’t think that’s what they are. They have the most beautiful pendulous flowers that appear from time to time – I haven’t been able to figure out whether this is limited to a particular time of year.

What a pretty flower!

What a pretty flower!

Closer inspection revealed that they don’t just LOOK pretty, they must taste pretty darn good too. To snails anyway.

Two snails having a leisurely lunch

Two snails having a leisurely lunch

If you know what they’re called, please enlighten me?

6 thoughts on “Do you know the name of these flowers?

  1. What an odd looking flower. It looks so different from anything else. I’ve searched through so many of images of exotic flowers and can’t find a single one that looks like it. What if it’s unique and only grows in your yard?

    • Hi Amy

      Now wouldn’t that be amazing, hey? But I doubt that it’s unique to our yard, even though I’ve also not been able to find it in my limited number of plant books.

      I was just hoping that one of my brilliant readers would see the picture and go “Oh! Of course I know what that is – it’s a whaddayaknow, and it grows under such-and-such conditions.”

  2. Reggie, do you think it might be a Phaedranassa, Eucrosia or Eustephia? These striking plants are native to Central and South America.

    Since you’ve seen the flowers at different stages of growth, you might be able to determine more from a Google image search than me.

    • Amy, I’ve searched for the names you’ve suggested, but none of the images look similar to this one.

      Perhaps I should take the photo down to our local plant nursery; I’m just not in the habit of printing photos anymore, now that I’ve gone digital! πŸ™‚ I’ll post an update when I find out what it is.

      I really appreciate your detective work!

  3. Hi there, your plant belongs to the pineapple family AKA a Bromeliad, this one is a Bilbergia, though I’m not sure of the exact species. Bromeliads are endemic to South America and mainly grow as epiphytes in the rainforest canopy, while others (mainly Tillandsia AKA Airplants) grow on Cacti in the desserts where they live of the fog from the ocean, and yet others grow in the ground like normal plants. They are very adaptable to a wide range of cultivation, and Bilbergia are some of the easiest! Depending on the species they can grow from full sun to deep shade, most benefit from higher humidity, but that is not required for all to thrive. Unfortunately the flowers of Bilbergia are rather short lived, whereas those of e.g. Aechmia and can last months! Neorelegia on the other hand produces magnificently coloured bract, while the actual flowers are quite small and inconspicuous. After the plant flowers it will die, but is usually replaced by a number of offsets, called “pups” by bromeliad aficionados. They grow best free draining soil with lost of organic material and benefit from regular fertilizing with something like Seegrow. They are mostly not frost tolerant, but there are exceptions such as species of Puya particularly. OK I think I have said enough! I hope this answered your question and some more! πŸ˜‰

I'd love to hear your views

