Waterfront memories

Gerry, the leader of the V&A Waterfront Photo Walk on 18 July 2009 has just posted a final reminder on his website.

It’s the first time I’m deliberately going to the Waterfront in order to take photos, so I am really looking forward to it! And it looks as though the weather deities will be smiling beneficently down upon us on Saturday.

I searched through my old photos and found a couple I’d taken at the Waterfront in 2003 and 2005.

This is a picture of Table Mountain taken from the pier with the green lighthouse on the end.

Table Mountain

Table Mountain

The sunset that day was quite spectacular…

Sunset on the pier

Sunset on the pier

… as was the mini-tsunami that almost swept us off the pier that evening. And no, I don’t have a photo of it, because at that exact moment we were lying flat on our stomachs, digging our fingers into the thankfully uneven concrete, praying that the torrent of water wouldn’t dislodge us and that we wouldn’t drown as the sea swept over us. It was a near-death experience that I really wouldn’t like to repeat.

A far more pleasant event involved cheering on the contestants in a dragon boat race in which one of Richard’s cousins was participating. To the steady booming of drums, oars were rhythmically dipped in and out of the water, drops flying everywhere, while the beautifully decorated dragon boats went slicing through the waves. Exciting stuff!

Dragon boat racing

Dragon boat racing

There were masses of yachts on the moorings. I think the event coincided with some sort of round the world yacht race, but I can’t remember the details.

Yachts

Yachts

But I was mightily pleased when one of the > 100 photos I took of the swooping, diving and gliding seagulls actually came out just perfect!

A soaring seagull

A soaring seagull

I'd love to hear your views

