More pink

After finding that beautiful double hibiscus flower a few days ago, I had another roam around the garden after lunch today, and found this one.

Hibiscus flower

Hibiscus flower

I was playing around with the settings on my camera in preparation for the Worldwide Photo Walk to be led by Gerry in 10 days’ time. Originally, I used to stick to the ‘Auto’ setting, but after going through the Digital Photography Course in February this year, I have been using the ‘P’ (Program) setting more and more. It gives you greater flexibility to play with aperture, exposure and shutter speed, and also – wonderfully – gives one access to the SUPER-macro mode! 😉 Today, feeling particularly brave, I ventured onto the ‘M’ (Manual!) setting.

I rather like how the light shines through the pink petals, highlighting the veins.

Hibiscus flower

Hibiscus flower

I was amazed to read that hibiscus flowers are not just pretty and ornamental – they also have healing properties. I’m not entirely sure which species of hibiscus mine is, but I believe that the petals are edible, and can be used to make tea.

“A 2008 USDA study shows consuming hibiscus tea lowers blood pressure in a group of pre-hypertensive and mildly hypertensive adults. Three cups of tea daily resulted in an average drop of 7.2 point in their systolic blood pressure, compared to a 1.3 point drop in the volunteers who drank the placebo beverage. Study participants with higher blood pressure readings (129 or above), had a greater response to hibiscus tea, their systolic blood pressure went down by 13.2 points. This data supports the idea that drinking hibiscus tea in an amount readily incorporated into the diet may play a role in controlling blood pressure, although more research is required.” (Wikipedia)

You can read more about the study here.

I often wonder how many plants we have growing in our garden – some of them probably regarded as lowly weeds – that actually have medicinal or curative properties?

One thought on “More pink

  1. I’ve seen Hibiscus flowers growing outdoors in Greece and in Florida. I recall making drawings of them years ago. They are beautiful. I didn’t know about their medicinal properties. I used to have an indoor Hibiscus that flowered non-stop it seemed. The key was to have it in total uninterrupted darkness for a set number of hours each night. Perhaps doctors should start prescribing Hibiscus plants for patients with high blood pressure.

I'd love to hear your views

