A Colour Test

A friend of mine emailed me this link to a most frustrating and intriguing colour test.

It consists of a series of eight screens. You are given a word at the top and two buttons to choose from at the bottom. You have to choose the COLOUR of the word and not the word itself.

But you have only a couple of seconds to make your decision, and the colour of the buttons changes as you move your mouse over it – just to confuse you even more before you make your choice!

The idea is to integrate your left and right brains (which is supposed to slow down Alzheimer’s and all those degenerative brain diseases).

Apparently, according to the email,

“It takes an average of 5 tries to get to 100%. Follow the directions!  When you are finished, enter in the subject line how many times it took you to achieve 100%.  Don’t be embarrassed. It’s harder than it seems, as it should be!”

Man, oh man! I’m too embarrassed to say how many tries I needed. But now that I got 100% (much to my own surprise!) I can just feel the synapses firing.

Go on, give it a go!

7 thoughts on “A Colour Test

  1. I tried this a while back and remember how difficult it was to even understand what the instructions were!

    I’ve heard that Alzheimers can be put off by doing uncomfortable things with our brains as we age. Once we’re done high school, we basically can think only thoughts that are comfortable to us. Even at the university level we can usually specialize in an area that we are keen to learn about. Consequently, right-brained people end up thinking predominantly right-brain thoughts while left-brained people are free to focus on left-brained mental activities.

    Years ago, I homeschooled my children for a couple of years. As I taught grade 7 mathematics to my oldest son I could feel my brain hurting as the cobwebs began to clear. (They had been building up in my head since the last time I had taken a compulsory math course in grade 12). Around that same time, I also had to learn more about computers and bookkeeping, which did not at all come naturally to me. Although it was difficult, I soon found that my brain started working better at all mental activities, even the artistic, right-brained ones.

    The brain really does need to be challenged in order to keep it in top form. Interesting post Reggie!

    • Hi Amy-Lynn

      Thank you for that eloquent comment!

      I too feel that our brains, as well as our bodies and even our emotions – get into such a rut (probably quite literally) as we get older, that it is quite challenging to think, act and feel differently – or non-habitually.

      Purely on a physical level, I know that I’m far less flexible than I used to be when I was younger – and before I began to neglect my body more and more, pretty much sitting in front of the computer for almost the entire day and until very late at night. I always blamed ‘a lack of time’ on my lack of physical activity… and now that I *do* have more time to create my own daily schedule, I am finding it surprisingly difficult to incorporate daily exercise into my routine. It takes an *effort*, it certainly doesn’t come as naturally as it once did.

      I’ve noticed that the same happens on an emotional level too – I tend to respond in habitual ways to people, places and situations. But even being aware of it or noticing such almost instinctive – “Oh bother, there I’ve gotten all upset again at something so trivial” – doesn’t make it easy to change them. Also, have you noticed how you act and react differently depending on the context in which you find yourself and according to the people who surround you? I’m sure that other people’s expectations play a role there too, as do all kinds of subtle things like peer pressure (even as adults, I think we still respond to that) and seeking approval and validation.

      And the same applies on a mental level too. Your story of homeschooling sounds quite intriguing – I cannot imagine how hard that must be, particularly when you’re faced with explaining mathematical concepts that we’ve never been taught at school. I do think that it would also be extremely rewarding, though. I’m curious whether your children enjoyed the learning time with you? I remember that my gran did crossword puzzles and read books and magazines until the very end – she always said that it kept her brain sharp and alert, and it did!

      I think it would be good to get into such kind of habits as early as possible in life, don’t you? I’m quite fascinated by how immovable habits seem to be once they’ve settled in for the long haul – perhaps it’s time to use that to inculcate GOOD habits instead of all those non-productive and energy-depleting ones? 😉

  2. Reggie, your observations are dead on. The ancient Greeks believed that a healthy mind could only exist in a healthy body and that the two were connected. Something to keep in mind.

    Sitting behind a computer all day long is so bad for the body. My oldest son Jeremiah recently wrote an article on his blog about keeping fit while sitting at a desk all day at
    http://www.digitaltrainer.ca/blog/2009/04/four-ways-not-to-become-fat-while-sitting-behind-a-desk/ I feel guilty every time I read his blog 😉 He works as a personal trainer, among other things, and is always full of encouraging ideas, but it’s difficult to listen up when you’re in that kind of physical/mental/emotional rut you were writing about.

    I only homeschooled my 3 sons for 2 years. It wasn’t easy but it brought us very close and we all learned so much.

    My mom still does crossword puzzles and also says it keeps her sharp. I think it’s easiest to integrate new small habits into our lives a little bit at a time. Once we meet with one small success, it becomes easier to give another one a try.

  3. Amy-Lynn – I just zooted over to your son’s blog, and immediately did 10 chair-dips and 10 push-ups in ‘compensation’ for my laziness. 😉

    The chair-dips I had to do against the edge of the bed, because my office chair has wheels, and I would have wrenched my shoulders out if I’d used the chair!

    And as I’m writing this comment, I’m trying to keep my legs straight, which is proving quite tricky and hard work!

    I’ve even stuck the instructions on the corner of my monitor, so that they’ll remind me.

    But for now, I’m off for a roam around the garden. It’s glorious weather, and one shouldn’t be inside on a day like this!

I'd love to hear your views

