My last day at UCT

… has finally come to an end.

It’s close to midnight, and we’ve just returned home from campus after another marathon session.

Yesterday, I’d been at work until late at night, reconciling accounts… a skill I’d learned from my previous boss. It feels good to do reconciliations and to make sure that the numbers balance: it’s surprisingly satisfying when the accounting package gives me a tick of approval.

Today’s long session involved cleaning up my computer, deleting unnecessary programs and files, backing up and copying important data, and preparing everything for whoever will take my place and need access to all my work and the programs I used.

It’s incredible, how much STUFF one accumulates in four years of admin work. I’ve been trying to make sure that I’ve taken care of as much unfinished business as possible, and I left precise instructions on what needs to be done in the coming weeks to wind things up. It feels disconcertingly as though I’m writing my last will and testament.

My boss had arranged a surprise goodbye party today. I felt quite emotional to see so many of our students there, and saying goodbye was really hard. Thank goodness for Gmail and Google Talk and FaceBook and such-like marvels of technology, so I’ll be able to stay in touch with many of them.

And now, a new life awaits…

I'd love to hear your views

