Create your own font

Have you ever grown tired of those all-pervasive serif and sans-serif fonts like Times New Roman and Arial? Ever wanted to make your digital documents, birthday cards or scrapbooks look as though you had written them by hand? Ever wanted to make digital invitations look more personal?

Now you can!

Here’s a really cool website that allows you to do just that:

YourFonts.com is a FREE online font generator that allows you to create your own OpenType fonts within a couple of minutes. Go make your own handwriting as a font!

The instructions are really straightforward and easy to follow:

  1. Print out a two-page template of the entire alphabet and various special keys
  2. Complete the template, using a fine permanent marker
  3. Scan and save the template as a *.jpg, for instance
  4. Upload the template
  5. Preview your font
  6. Install and use.

Much to my amazement, it worked straight away, and – even better – it really didn’t cost anything.

Look:

Sample of writing

Sample of writing

The only downside in digitising my own handwriting like this is that my handwriting is in cursive, with the different letters joined up, rather than with distinct spaces between the letters. I suppose there might be a way of filling in the template such that these spaces are reduced, but I don’t have the time to experiment. What I did try was to reduce the spaces between the letters in Word, and that made it look a bit better.

P.S. When I tried to upload a new set of fonts to the website, it said that there were 33 in the queue before me, and asked me to try again later. I guess this is a very popular site!

2 thoughts on “Create your own font

  1. Reggie, I’d heard of this site before but never got around to trying it. Not having the letters connect is a big enough glitch for me to not bother, especially with 33 in the queue!

    I’ve done calligraphy since I was a teenager and have taught classes over the years as well. There is something about cursive handwriting that makes the written word even more special.

    • Hi Amy-Lynn
      I know what you mean, but it was still fun to play around with it! 🙂 I also did a bit of calligraphy for a very short time when I was younger – I was taught by an elderly lady, Mrs Reyersbach, who lived nextdoor to us and had two little Yorkshire terriers. She was a real English lady, and could be quite intimidating. But I really loved the calligraphy lessons and was desperately sad when we moved away and I had to give them up. For a long time I still kept the pen with its different nibs, but I think it got lost in one of our moves.

I'd love to hear your views

