Flutter-Wings and his Daddy

When I got home this afternoon, I caught a glimpse of little Flutter-Wings sheltering among the clivia and ivy near the hibiscus. Clearly its wings weren’t strong enough to fly up into the nest above it.

Camouflaged by the ivy

Camouflaged by the ivy

The poor little creature was just a ball of fluff in the blustery South Easter wind:

A little ball of fluff

A little ball of fluff

Daddy, meanwhile was holding onto the telephone line, chirruping to distract me.

Daddy on the telephone line

Daddy on the telephone line

Sorry that the pics are a bit blurry, but my zoom lens had reached its limits (I was trying to stay as far away as possible), and the gusting wind wasn’t helping it to focus.

I’m just so relieved that the baby has survived the day! Now let’s just hope that it survives tonight too…

One thought on “Flutter-Wings and his Daddy

  1. Pingback: R.I.P. Flutter-Wings « Grains of Sand

I'd love to hear your views

