A letter to South Africans

I came across this letter by Karen Michelle Brooks on the SA Good News website this morning, and thought it was so neatly phrased that I’d share it with you:

“It does not interest me that the pound is stronger than the rand.
I want to know if our indigenous medicine can cure the world of Aids and if our people can learn together, taking our past into our future.

It does not interest me which party you voted for in the last election.
I want to know if we still admire Nelson Mandela and truly see the hope we have been given.

It does not interest me if we are not a super-power.
I want to know if we remember that we saw our man in space and that he started our children dreaming.

It does not interest me if you are government, NGO, public or private sector.
I want to know if we can cooperate and compromise.
If we can admit mistakes humbly, and so reach for the stars.

It does not interest me in what nation, race, culture, gender or category we have been placed.
I want to know if we can shape a community together and share a home of belonging.

It does not interest me that we have eleven official languages.
I want to know if we can hear each other and expand our lives with meaning.

It does not interest me when you say you are leaving.
I want to know when you gave up
And if you know that you have left your heart behind.”

Wow. Particularly the last lines.

One thought on “A letter to South Africans

  1. Hi Reggie,

    So glad the poem or words are still circulating around and about a little!

    ….if you love reading – feel like giving me your email address and I’ll send you the first few chapters of a series of teenage books that I’m trying to get into the market place. (I love constructive criticism). The first book is currently called Emily and the Battle of the Veil – tempted?

    thanks for your words,
    Warm regards,
    Karen Michelle Brooks

I'd love to hear your views

