Adverts on my Blog? Be-Gone!

A blogfriend brought it to my attention a while back that WordPress.com does (occasionally? all the time? I really don’t know) allow adverts to appear on our free WordPress.com-hosted blogs.

As I am always logged in, I never see these adverts, so I had not given it much thought.

Tonight, though, as I happened to glance at my most recent post on the theft of our letterbox on hubby’s computer, I was alarmed to see an advert for Warcraft or something similarly disturbing at the bottom of the post.

Yes, you can – for the princely sum of US$30 a year – purchase an ad-free premium upgrade for your blog.

But as that ain’t gonna happen, I thought I had better tell you upfront:

If any adverts appear on my blog, please know that they were not put there by me, but by WordPress.com. Their presence certainly does not mean that I support or endorse the products or services advertised – or that I even know what is being advertised.

I really hope that none of those adverts have been offensive to you, and apologise if they have been.

Dear readers – if you do see something really offensive, please let me know the details, send me a screenshot, and I shall Go On The Warpath and complain to WordPress Support.

Yes, I understand that they need to place adverts on free blogs from time to time to fund what is really quite an amazing service, but – if they do not wish to give us control over what is advertised on our own blogs – they should at the very least exercise discretion and not advertise inappropriate or offensive products or services.

27 thoughts on “Adverts on my Blog? Be-Gone!

    • Hi Pete – welcome to my blog, famous crime novelist! :-D

      I’m not sure how I can monitor what is being advertised; I suspect they may pop-in ads from time to time, and that these may well look different for different readers on any one post, depending on their click-history or cookies or whatever. I do hope that no unsuitable adverts appear on your blog.

      • Hahaha thanks for the welcome.

        I don’t see adverts when reading other blogs, but I’m always logged in. I’ve just opened another browser, not signed in and viewed a few blogs. There were no adverts on the main pages, but as soon as I went into a post I had adverts on 80% of them. I tried three of your posts and each had adverts.

        When I access those posts signed in there are no adverts. So maybe that is why people don’t usually see them, most people who have a blog are probably signed in all the time (I know I am).

        The adverts I saw were for UK companies so they must be targeting me the viewer rather than target you as the host. Not great but unless you’re prepared to pay nothing we can do about it.

      • Ahhhhh! Now that was an interesting and instructive experiment, Pete.

        Thank you for letting me know the results. I wonder how other WordPress.com bloggers are feeling about this?

    • I have posted MY response to this obnoxious practice on ADDandSoMuchMore.com – “PLEASE DO NOT BUY” – and have included a link to this post.

      Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, SCAC, MCC – (blogging at ADDandSoMuchMore and on ADDerWorld – dot com!)
      “It takes a village to transform a world!”

      • Thanks, Reggie. They tried to do this by fax at one point, if you’re old enough to remember THAT. (Oh, goodie, now we have to buy fax paper and ink so that they can advertise to us!) Our parents had to deal with junk mail. And we have to deal with spam. It kept getting worse until enough people complained.

        I don’t see much changing in today’s money-grubbing climate, however. I’m a BIG believer in boycott, but my main concern is that they are going to drive traffic away from a blog I took time to design to be very quiet to avoid same (or that folks will believe that I authorized the ads I never even knew were there!)

        Thanks for taking the time to read my rant (grin) – and for posting your own. It’s so nice to know I’m not the only one!

        Madelyn Griffith-Haynie, SCAC, MCC – (blogging at ADDandSoMuchMore and on ADDerWorld – dot com!)
        “It takes a village to transform a world!”

      • I wonder how many WP bloggers are actually aware of the adverts appearing on their blogs? It seems they only appear when you are not logged into WordPress, which is why I had never known about them before. And apparently they are different for bloggers from different countries, and presumably different browser settings and tracking cookie histories. It’s rather like making your house look all nice and friendly, and welcoming, and decorating it just the way you like it, and then some selfish nitwit comes and sprays luminous graffiti all over it. Not cool.

  1. A couple of months ago I noticed an ad on your blog, & was surprised – can’t now remember what it was advertising – & I assumed that you had signed from some deal that permitted ads. Obviously not the case. Interesting. Thanks for the headsup!

    • Hi Alison – really? You saw an ad on my blog? You know, I hadn’t given any thought to that at all… I had known that we could purchase an ‘ad-free premium upgrade’, but as I had never seen any ads on my own blog, I assumed that there weren’t any, and thus didn’t want to waste my money buying the upgrade. I’m rather appalled to think that adverts may have been appearing all along, and that my readers may have been under the impression that I was *endorsing* this Sh1T. Sorry. It’s just peeving me off!

  2. I totally agree with you in what you write above. But these ads are probably the price of using WordPress – nothing’s free in our world! However, I have never seen ads on your blog. And not on my own blog. Have you?

    • Hi Truels, yes, I guess that it has been confirmed once again that nothing is free in our world! :-( And I had been sooo happy with WordPress up to now…

      You’ve never seen ads on my blog? Hm… I wonder how that works…

      I can’t honestly remember whether I’ve seen any on your blog either. But now that I know about this, I am definitely more sensitised and alert. I shall let you know, Truels!

    • Hello Malou – the Dutch are a very wise people indeed. :-)

      Let me know if you see any ads – remember that you have to be logged out of WordPress.com, or to use another web browser (some browsers apparently block adverts too).

  3. I haven’t seen adverts on your blog, is that because I’m always signed in?

    I don’t believe Cape Town often has such high temps eh? I hope you have some nice place to cool off… We’ve got the warm Santa Ana winds blowing here now and it was in the high 70’s today. Lovely.

    • Well, we do often have temperatures in the mid 30’s (I’m not sure what that is in Fahrenheit though!), particularly in January/February. It’s also the windy season here now – the kitesurfers and windsurfers love it! Me, not so much. But at least the wind does cool things down and blow the smog out over the ocean.

  4. Pingback: PLEASE DO NOT BUY « ADD . . . and-so-much-more

I'd love to hear your views

